38th SADC Summit 38th SADC Summit

Namibia hosted the 38th Ordinary SADC Summit in August


The 38th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and preceding meetings took place in Windhoek, in the Republic of Namibia on the 9th to the 18th of August, 2018.


The SADC Summit is responsible for the overall policy direction and control of functions of the community, ultimately making it the policy-making institution of SADC. It is made up of all SADC Heads of States or Government and is managed on a Troika system that comprises the current SADC Chairperson, the incoming Chairperson and the immediate previous Chairperson. The ordinary SADC summit usually meets once a year around August or September in a member state of the incoming SADC Chairperson.


The current SADC troika comprises of H.E.  President Cyril Ramaphosa, of South Africa as the Chairperson of SADC; H.E President Dr Hage G. Geingob, of Namibia and incoming Chairperson; and H.M. King Mswati III, of the Kingdom of Eswatini as the outgoing Chairperson.


The troika for the SADC Organ on Politics, Defense and Security Cooperation comprises of H.E. President João Lourenço, of Angola as Chairperson of the Organ; H.E. President Edgar Chagwa Lungu, of Zambia as the incoming Chairperson of the Organ, and H.E. President Dr John Joseph Magufuli of the United Republic of Tanzania as outgoing Chairperson of the Organ.


Namibia last hosted such a SADC event in 1992 during the historic Summit held in Windhoek, Namibia, where leaders from the region signed the SADC Treaty and Declaration that effectively transformed the then Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) into Southern African Development Community (SADC). The signing of the Treaty and Declaration ushered in changes in the way the regional organisation operates, as prior to 1992, the organisational and institutional arrangements were decentralised, with each of the Member States being responsible for coordinating one economic sector. With the signing of the Treaty, the coordination of regional programmes and activities became centralised at the SADC Secretariat in Gaborone, Botswana.


The ordinary SADC Summit was proceeded by a series of meeting and events, namely, the meeting of the SADC Standing Committee of Senior Officials; the SADC Finance subcommittee; SADC Council of Ministers Meeting; as well as the Double Troika Senior Officials, and Ministerial Council of the Organ and Double Troika Summit.


For more, please follow  https://www.sadc.int/about-sadc/sadc-institutions/summit/ ; https://www.sadc.int/about-sadc/sadc-institutions/org/https://www.sadc.int/about-sadc/sadc-institutions/council/

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Remarks and Statements Remarks and Statements

Media Accreditation for the 38th SADC Summit in Windhoek Media Accreditation for the 38th SADC Summit in Windhoek

All members of the Media who wish to cover the SADC Summit, preceding meetings and visit other areas accessible to media practitioners are required to be accredited through the Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation - Protocol and Consular Affairs Department, with copies to the Ministry of Information and Communications and Technology by 10 August 2018

Members of the media meetings are invited to apply for accreditation by filling out the following forms: 

NB: All fields in the Application template need to be completed for successful accreditation. The deadline is 10 August 2018.  The application form should be submitted to the Email address: asteriah1@gmail.com or Sem.Shino@mict.gov.na or sam7shino@gmail.com 

For more information contact Sem Shino, Email address: Sem.Shino@mict.gov.na / semshino@yahoo.com , Office Tel No. +264 61 283 2671 or mobile number +264 811624526 or Asteria Ndjendja, email asteriah1@gmail.com / Office Tel No. +264 61 283 2668, mobile number +264 811459848


NB: All foreign media practitioners who wish to cover the SADC Summit are exempted from paying the processing of a temporary work permit that costs N$390 per person+ N$80 handling fee.


Countdown Countdown